Moorestown Friends Wins Team, Individual Awards At Model UN

MOORESTOWN, NJ — Moorestown Friends School was named Best School Delegation at the 2018 University of Delaware Model United Nations Conference (HenMUN), the school announced on Thursday. A team of 30 Upper School students advised by History Department Chair Clark Thomson traveled to Newark, DE for the conference, which took place from March 2-4. The students won the team title and earned nine individual accolades.

"2017-2018 was an amazing Model United Nations year for Moorestown Friends School," Thomson said. "The University of Delaware Model United Nations was a wonderful event to cap our year of external conferences. The MFS Model UN leadership had a number of goals at the beginning of the year. The goal of winning at HenMUN was one, albeit tethered more to hope. As we drove through the snow to Newark, [Co-President] Anna Goula addressed our delegation. She did not speak of winning, only of making an effort worthy of all the hard work the delegates have made all year. I noticed the collective nodding. I smiled."

MFS received the following awards:

Best School Delegation
Moorestown Friends School

Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC)
Honorable Mention – Vika Kulchyckyj (Ukraine)
Best Delegate – Ian Millstein (Brazil)

Historical General Assembly (League of Nations)
Honorable Mention – Andrew Landesman (Mexico)

Social, Cultural, and Humanitarian Committee (SOCHUM)
Honorable Mention – Dylan Mitnick (Ukraine)

Social, Political, and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL)
Outstanding Delegate – Anna Goula (Mexico)

Commission on Criminal Justice and Crime Prevention
Best Delegate – Mariana Goldlust (Brazil)

Commission on Science and Technology
Outstanding Delegate – Ali Chesnick (Brazil)

Best Delegate – Micaela Coll (Rafael Tinoco of Guatemala)

UN Security Council
Outstanding Delegates – Cameron Stirner and Josh Strauss (Ukraine)

The attached image was provided by Moorestown Friends School

Source Article